On Tales and Stuff : Ali Baba & the Forty Theives

Ali Baba and Morgiana; my favourite couple as a kid not for anything more than their names. Morgiana actually appealed to me more like a serial killer!!! if I may say.

Wasn’t fond of their story though, it is kinda violent, never understood what’s cute about a lady killing guys “although theives” by pouring boiling oil over them. Ewwwwwwww.

I mean come on, follow the thread….at the beginning the gang killed Kasim at the cave, then tracked Ali Baba Down after discovering the disappearance of his brother’s body. In order to get rid of Ali Baba the theives manipulated him; the lead thief pretended to be an oil merchant in need for Ali Baba’s hospitality, brought mules loaded with 40 oil jars, one filled with oil, the other 39 with the other thieves. Brilliant Morgiana discovered the plan, and killed the 39 thieves in their oil jars by pouring boiling oil on them.

Of course the big guy “their leader” is still alive, so he proceeded with the killing plan…. later on he disguised as a merchant, befriended Ali Baba’s son and the son invited him to dinner at the dad’s house. Again Super Morgiana discovered the vicious plan and plunged a dagger into the theif’s heart while performing a dance infront of the diners.

Now what??? abnoxious!!! maybe….can’t hate it though, still has its own charm…..it ended up with “And they lived happily Everafter” isn’t that sweet!!!

Here is one more nice thing about this story…..infront of “you know” these hotels/malls automated doors…the type of thing that opens and closes whenever you approach, I used to do the “Open Sesame/Close Sesame” thing….mmm….am still doing it….but not as loud as I used to when I was younger…..usually the security person at the gate think that I am smiling to him/her….good perspective…but actually am smiling for my never ending/kinda still there chilhood customs ๐Ÿ˜‰

Published in: on November 15, 2005 at 1:14 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nerro.wordpress.com/2005/11/15/on-tales-and-stuff-ali-baba-the-forty-theives/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You know that’s the first detailed story I read of Ali Baba ๐Ÿ™‚ At least, I think. All I usually remember is him watching the thieves say the magic word, then hiding himself in the cave and discovering the treasure ๐Ÿ™‚
    Sometimes, I even mistake him with Aladdin for a few seconds.

  2. Ya Noory,
    Always look at the “Moral of the story” ๐Ÿ™‚ … there are many versions of this particular Ali Baba’s one.
    you can say every one has his own story. but they wated to emphasize that the good always defeats the evil… yes it’s that simple.

    Have a beautiful day sis ๐Ÿ™‚

    Nesrina

  3. Eve: :)) well, sorry to make ur first detailed account as freaky as this….ma3lesh ba2a…tell me wich tales are you into, and I will make it up ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Nesrina: you are sweet, and all the versions I found Ali Baba and Morgiana guilty…in this tale in particular evil defeats more evil!!! as I told you yesterday…can’t think highly of them, still it is a tale and I like it…a bit…

  4. I can’t help but smile when I read the last few sentences. Same idiosyncracies. =P Arabian Nights is a gd book…I have yet to read that.


Leave a Reply

