Geisha and……

My mother always said she’d married my father because she had too much water in her personality and he had too much wood in his. People who knew my father understood right away what she was talking about. Water flows from place to place quickly and always finds a crack to spill through. Wood, on the other hand, holds fast to the earth.
In my father’s case this was a good thing, for he was a fisherman, and a man with wood in his personality is at ease on the sea. In fact, my father was more at ease on the sea than anywhere else, and never left it far behind him. He smelled like the sea even after he had bathed.
When he wasn’t fishing, he sat on the floor in our dark front room mending a fishing net. And if a fishing net had been a sleeping creature, he wouldn’t even have awakened it, at the speed he worked.
He did everything this slowly. Even when he summoned a look of concentration, you could run outside and drain the bath in the time it took him to rearrange his features. His face was very heavily creased, and into each crease he had tucked some worry or other, so that it wasn’t really his own face any longer, but more like a tree that had nests of birds in all the branches. He had to struggle constantly to manage it and always looked worn out from the effort.
When I was six or seven, I learned something about my father I’d never known. One day I asked him, “Daddy, why are you so old?” He hoisted up his eyebrows at this, so that they formed little sagging umbrellas over his eyes. And he let out a long breath, and shook his head and said, “I don’t know.” When I turned to my mother, she gave me a look meaning she would answer the question for me another time.
The following day without saying a word, she walked me down the hill toward the village and turned at a path into a graveyard in the woods. She led me to three graves in the corner, with three white marker posts much taller than I was. They had stern-looking black characters written top to bottom on them, but I hadn’t attended the school in our little village long enough to know where one ended and the next began. My mother pointed to them and said, “Natsu, wife of Sakamoto Minoru.” Sakamoto Minoru was the name of my father. “Died age twenty-four, in the nineteenth year of Meiji.”
Then she pointed to the next one: “Jinichiro, son of Sakamoto Minoru, died age six, in the nineteenth year of Meiji,” and to the next one, which was identical except for the name, Masao, and the age, which was three. It took me a while to understand that my father had been married before, a long time ago, and that his whole family had died.
I went back to those graves not long afterward and found as I stood there that sadness was a very heavy thing. My body weighed twice what it had only a moment earlier, as if those graves were pulling me down toward them.

“Excerpt from Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden”

An interesting novel to read, looking forward to watch the movie, supposedly will be released soon in Egypt.

Been crazy overhere the past couple of days…visitors from HQ….done with the AWF presentation…it came out real GOOD…am being pampered big time since yesterday for it..nevertheless we are screwed customers wise..man….these people are so spoilt…but will see how the final results will come out ya3ni.

Well, have more things to tell, but can’t get myself to concentrate…visitors are gone, meetings are over with…boss is gone for the rest of the day :)) don’t feel like spending more time on my desk…gotta do something more fun “I deserve it ya3ni ;-)”…think I might update this post sometime later tonight…

Published in: on January 19, 2006 at 1:53 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nerro.wordpress.com/2006/01/19/geisha-and/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This post has been removed by the author.

  2. Narnoura,

    Where can I get the novel from?? The book fair maslan?

    Saba7 el telepathy aslan.. I’ve just put it on my list of “to-be-bought books” 2 days ago 🙂

  3. Nerro:Unfortunately the movie came out to be below the expectations according to many reviews I’ve read ,but still enjoyable.

    Nour:I guess you can find it at the book fair or at Dewan Bookstore in Zamalek ,if you can’t find it there you can but it online if you are used to do so ,if you don’t you can email me for asisstance.

  4. Nour: I borrowed the novel from the Company Library. But I think you may find it at Diwan or the book fair as NL told you. Let me know if you had any problems finding it. :)) I like this telepathy thing.

    Night Legend: Yeah..I still think, it is gonna be good ya3ni…I read some reviews, and felt that people were prejudiced agianst the movie as for cast and Anonymity issues.. but I think for us it is gonna be enjoyable as u said.

  5. Nerro,
    Thx a lot ya gameela.. I’ll b going 2 the book fair sometime next week ISA, w rabena ysahel 🙂

    NightLegend,
    Thx a million.. I’ll contact u if I needed anything 🙂


Leave a Reply

