On Butter and Dr. Seuss


So we were having lunch….and I started to butter a piece of bread…all of a sudden I started to smile..eventually the smile started getting wider and wider…only one friend got why I had this smirk on my face…fa he went like “ha ba2a..butter side up, or butter side down”…we both started laughing loudly…recalling the crucial disagreement between the Yooks and the Zooks in Dr. Seuss “The Butter Battle Book”…the matter of fact it wasn’t all about butter, it was an anti-war story about the Arms race and Nuclear Weapons written during the cold war. The Yooks and Zooks represented the US and the USSR. So what do you think…BUTTER-SIDE UP, OR BUTTER SIDE DOWN!!!!

Dr. Seuss is the pen name for Theodor Seuss Geisel…. Hop on Pop, The Cat in the Hat, The Cat in the Hat Comes Back, My Many Colored Days, Green Eggs and Ham, The seven lady Godivas, etc… Oh Dr. Seuss…I do love you..I’ve been a huge fan my whole life 🙂

Now…this is one of my favourite poems “from the lost Dr. Seuss book”….I know it by heart since I started working…I have it right beside me on the bulletin board…I look at it during my hard times at work…”which can be translated to a lot to be more accurate”..

I love my job, I love the pay.
I love it more and more each day.
I love my boss; he/she is the best.
I love his boss and all the rest.

I love my office and its location.
I hate to have to go on vacation.
I love my furniture, drab and gray,
And the paper that piles up every day.

I love my chair in my padded cell.
There’s nothing else I love so well.
I love to work among my peers.
I love their leers and jeers and sneers.

I love my computer and its software;
I hug it often though it don’t care.
I love each program and every file,
I try to understand once in a while.

I’m happy to be here, I am, I am;
I’m the happiest slave of my Uncle Sam.
I love this work; I love these chores.
I love the meetings with deadly bores.

I love my job-I’ll say it again.
I even love these friendly men,
These men who’ve come to visit today
In lovely white coats to take me away

“Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind” Dr. Seuss

Published in: on February 2, 2006 at 1:37 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nerro.wordpress.com/2006/02/02/on-butter-and-dr-seuss/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am a huge Dr. Suess fan,too . I read Dr. Suess to my children many years ago and we loved it. I still keep all the books we read. My favorites are: Oh, the Places You’ll Go!( uplifting) ,I Am Not Going To Get Up Today!(hillarious) and Would You Rather Be A Bullfrog (thought provoking). I did not read The Butter Battle Book , but I will try to get it and read it 🙂

  2. Isn’t he the best 🙂 try the butter battle book, you gonna love it.–>


Leave a Reply

