Her shop around the corner: Kotob Khan








YAAAAAY…..She opened her own version of the little shop around the corner…her dream came true🙂

As I didn’t manage to attend the soft opening, fa last Sunday I decided to go visit Karam’s Bookshop, it is like 10 minutes away from where I work…fa cool.

I was taken the very first moment I saw the place…even from the outside…bright…with flowers around…and lots of greenery.

I entered…and I fell in love with the place..the variety of Arabic, English, German and childern books is awesome…..you can grab a book and go sit and have a nice time reading there in a truly cozy atmosphere. Have a cup of coffee…or a snack…and forget the world…personally…I would go and spend Friday mornings there….I loved the place.

The most significant thing about the Kotob Khan is the owner’s passion to what she is doing…it is her lifetime dream…..up and running…and with all the enthusiasm she has..and the serives she is gonna provide….I guess…this place is gonna be one of the top bookshops in Egypt…

The Kotob Khan Grand opening will be Friday May 5th 2006 at 7 PM. But it is operating now. SO…GO….it is real fun.

3/1 Al Lasilky Road
New Maadi.
519 48 07

Published in: on May 2, 2006 at 10:23 am  Comments (20)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nerro.wordpress.com/2006/05/02/her-shop-around-the-corner-kotob-khan/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Well, it seems great really🙂.

    3o2bal ur shop around the corner opening isA😉 .

  2. It really is ya rain. Thank you dear…looking forward to it ba2a😀

  3. It is awesome ya nerro, even from the outside. I also like its name and the logo very much. The interior design is very remarkable. It is my dream to have a place like this.
    Maybe we can become partners one day when I come back to Egypt:)

  4. So going! and its only a few minutes away!! YAY! Thanks!

  5. Wonderer: you come back bas we7na netsaraf🙂

    Yasmina:pleasure…have fun🙂

  6. WOW.. I love it.. the name is amazing.. the decoration is very nice..
    The best thing about it.. that she opened the little shopt around the corner..
    I feel happy when I see people achieving their dreams🙂

  7. Ah.. forgot to tell you.. the new template is veryyy nice.. I like it🙂

  8. What a truly fabulous shop you have and wish it was here in Ohio!!! enjoy and have an awesome day!!! Hugs Linda

  9. Moon: Isn’t it great…I love when people attain their dreams as well. thanks sweets.

  10. yay! fata7 akheeran?! ana kol yoom a3adi men ganbo we a2oul emta hayfta7 ba2a…u made my day :)) bas my wallet will hate u from now on😛

  11. It is up and running ya Berry…my wallet will hate me as well😀

  12. I’m definately going to camp by this bookstore when I visit Egypt! I just dunno where to go to buy books in English when i’m there!!!

  13. You can go to this one in Maadi, Diwan “zamalek”, or Virgin down at Heliopolis..3 different districts😀

  14. eh dah!!!! you work in maadi? didn’t know that. isn’t maadi a cool place? heya sa7ee7 betdalem badry we shabah el karya el sagheera bas i wouldn’t wan’t to live anywhere else.

    i passed by the place yesterday and bought a nice book by “Kundera” called the joke, that guy is amazing, the place looked larger in the photos but anyway i like, maadi needed a place like this and i hope they get good business and continue forever.

  15. 7elwa kesset el karya el sagheera di…it really is…but am like you…would love to live there. Lucky me…I work here…fa cool, I enjoy the peaceful cozy atmosphere everyday. I hope they continue kaman…it is a nice place..with a very good collection kaman.

  16. i passed by the place again last saturday, and i met the owner, we talked for a while about books and YOU🙂 and she recomended an arabic book to me, i couldn’t resist the urge to read a book recomended by the bookstore owner herself. nice lady, obviously well read

  17. Glad u did ya Kareem…Karam is an amazing person…and of course a book recommended by her should be a “must read”.

  18. i wanna thank u 4 this pretty post, the pix r awesome too.

    the bad news is i live in Nasr city…so to get there i’ll need a map, pringles and let’s say a 100 pounds.
    the good news is it is not impossible🙂

  19. Dearest Nermine, and each one mentioned here took the effort and wrote something about YOUR book shop “Al Kotob Khan”, yes, It is your place.

    It is amazing that until yesterday still people give reviews on the place or share a thought with all.

    Thanks Nermine for beleiveing and supporting me. Thank you all and I am wishing each one of you ..no ..I am asking each one of you to work hard to make his/her dream comes true. We can make them true with passion and faith and hard work.

    My deepest regards.

    Karam Youssef

  20. Still breathing: it is not impossible that’s for sure…and it worth the effort and time begad.

    Karam: we gotta thank you for being our source of inspiration..I am looking forward to see the Kotob khan one of the top bookshops in Egypt..and isa it will…it made its way to the list of the good ones already…fa cool. and yes…will work hard to make the dream come true. Love–>


Leave a Reply

