The Kite Runner….Khaled Hosseini

One of the most touching and sincere novels I ever read…I highly recommend it….it is the author’s first novel, a beautiful and swift read…that leaves you with lots of questions to ponder upon. 

“There is only one sin, only one. And that is theft. Every other sin is a variation of theft. Do you understand that?When you kill a man, you steal a life. You steal his wife’s right to a husband, rob his children of a father.When you tell a lie, you steal someone’s right to the truth.When you cheat, you steal the right to fairness. Do you see?”

“Children are not coloring books. You don’t get to fill them with your favorite colors.” 

“A man found a magic cup and learned that if he wept into the cup, his tears turned into pearls. But even though he had always been poor, he was a happy man and rarely shed a tear.So he found ways to make himself sad so that his tears could make him rich. As the pearls piled up, so did his greed grow.

The story ended with the man sitting on a mountain of pearls, knife in hand, weeping helplessly into the cup with his beloved wife’s slain body in his arms.”

“Faces poke through haze, linger, fade away. They peer down, ask me questions. Do I know who I am? Do I hurt anywhere? I know who I am and I hurt everywhere. I want to tell them this but talking hurts”

“For you, a thousand times over”

See how short is this last sentence!! yet it means a lot….for a reason it has a powreful strange effect on me…tears pools in my eyes everytime I think about it…how willing are you to give, sacrifice, forget and forgive??

Published in: on June 26, 2006 at 9:24 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nerro.wordpress.com/2006/06/26/the-kite-runnerkhaled-hosseini/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It seems to be a very good book ya nerro, one of our outings when I come to Egypt will be the kotobkhan isa.
    BTW, what is the nationality of Khaled Hosseini?

  2. I loved this novel also, although it’s very sad.
    You can see my experience with it in the blow links 🙂 :
    Old blog: http://abdelhalim.wordpress.com/2006/05/30/the-kite-runner/

    New Blog: http://blog.simpleio.net/2006/06/06/the-kite-runner-update/

  3. Khaled Hosseini is Afghani auther.

  4. “the kite runner”
    i read about that not sure where …
    i’ll be checking it
    thx for the preview !

  5. Wonderer: As Abdelhalim told you Khaled Hosseini is an Afghan-American. As for the kotobkhan..goes without saying darlin’.

    Abdelhalim: the novel is awesome..sad yes…but meaningful and beautifully put together.

    Maxxed Out: pleasure 😀

  6. i adored the first and last quotes u mentioned here, they r so true, and since i read the last one, i am asking myself for whom can i say that?!
    it is amazing novel i second recommend it

  7. I will be no longer selected where you’re helping your information and facts, nonetheless great issue. I have to devote more time to mastering additional as well as training much more. Thanks for magnificent info I’d been seeking this data for my assignment.

  8. Gday good web site! Gentleman. Exceptional. Wonderful. I’ll take a note of your web blog as well as make feeds moreover? Now i’m very happy to look for so many handy information and facts here within the create, we want create much more techniques during this value, appreciate your discussing.

  9. I’m truly inspired together with your publishing advantages when perfectly much like layout, design to the web site. Is the the given topic or perhaps do you transform it all by yourself? No matter what maintain the excellent good quality crafting, it truly is rare to look a good weblog just like it today.


Leave a Reply

