Ex-boss

Here I post excerpts from Kirk Hackenberg’s A Peace Corps Profile..it is about his experience as a volunteer in the Peace Corps.

Read..and tell me I wasn’t lucky to work with this man….although reading this book is not enough…Kirk himself was a book of endless # of pages.

He added a lot to me…both professionally and personally.

Chapter 7 “Lacking the Social Graces”

…… I was sitting in my room when I heard a commotion across the street and looked out to see what was going on. To my anger I saw her and one of the Nicaraguan engineers that I work with beating her.

I ran across the street and grabbed him by the neck. With my fist raised to give him a pop, I realized there was absolutely no resistance on his part. I was so surprised by this that I didn’t hit him. I think he saw the amount of anger in my face and knew I was capable of anything at that moment. His next response was to tell me that they hit the women in his country and I shouldn’t interfere.

Chapter 13 “Crossing the Boarder”

…… I told her I would walk her and her brother back home. It was then that it hit me like a ton of bricks that I had no idea where that was. We walked, with her leading the way, and when we arrived, I was not prepared for what I saw. Her house was a cardboard box along with many others in an alley of a distant street. Inside were a few tattered clothes and a rag bed. She and her brother went in with their bags of food in hand.

I walked for hours, crying, not knowing what to do or how to help. I would never forget this moment in my life and wondered how much more I would have to see and feel before this was over.

Chapter 21 “A Life Complete”

…… I participated in the launches of Galileo to Jupiter, and the Magellan to Venus. I helped with COLBE, which gave us our first complete images of our own universe. I stood at the space center and saw the day and night launches of the Space Shuttle up close.

I have gone to the top of the Vertical Assembly Building and seen the space shuttle moved to its pad. I went on to help procure the world’s largest robotic machines to fabricate a new space shuttle rocket engine but none of this was as interesting to me as my Peace Corps years.

Published in: on June 29, 2006 at 9:18 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nerro.wordpress.com/2006/06/29/from-my-ex-boss-book/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. He really seems to be a great guy. Too bad that he is your “Ex-boss”, specially that you like you current one so much:)

  2. yeah :D…el na2la el 7adareya kanet sa3ba awiiii😉

  3. I was suggested this web site by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is
    written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem.

    You are amazing! Thanks!

  4. Very rapidly this web site will be famous amid all blog viewers,
    due to it’s fastidious articles

  5. This design is spectacular! You most certainly know how to
    keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos,
    I was almost moved to start my own blog (well,
    almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than
    that, how you presented it. Too cool!


Leave a Reply

