Beautiful morning

It sure is, a wonderful morning in Cairo, a little breezy, but me wants more, greedy ba2a :).  I have the energy of 2 very healthy horses who are looking forward to run in the desert…endlessly.  Seriously, I slept around 8 consecutive hours last night, which is great, didn’t happen in the last 45 days….fa I feel so energized this morning, feels like me awi, at a point keda, I thought I lost the energetic vivid me, bas apparently I was too drained and exhausted.  Anywayz, glad am back 😀

Cookies, cookies, cookies “as in ka7k”, cookies talk everywhere, it is the focus of attention these days…madame khashab, la2 Sedra, forget it Les Dames w khalas, can’t say i don’t like the talk, as it is a bit mouth watering”am starving and it is still 10″, bas it is too much, kaman the funny thing ba2a, eno inorder to buy the cookies aslan you have to spend hours and hours in queues to get what u want, mmmm we can exclude Mme Khashab from the queues thing, bas still it is too “much ado about a little thing” can’t say nothing though ;).

The night we attended the concert, the guys were playing  a piece keda that touched me awi in a very strange way, I opened my purse to check the tilte of the piece on the CD, and it hit me when I read it “Zafet el Shahid”…it is so beautiful. Just a little thought while  listening to it.

“The Unbearable Lightness of Being” by Kundera is my Eid book, the title tab3an caught me, not only that but while googling it, I found the following lines in the Wikipedia:

“According to Kundera, “being” is full of “unbearable lightness” because each of us has only one life to live: “Einmal ist Keinmal” (“once is never”, i.e., “what happened once might as well have never happened at all”). Therefore, each life is ultimately insignificant; every decision ultimately does not matter. Since decisions do not matter, they are “light”: they do not tie us down. But at the same time, the insignificance of our decisions – our lives, or being – is unbearable. Hence, “the unbearable lightness of being.”

Interesting…ha??  more on when I get done with it.

I go ba2a,

N “chasing the sun with ribbons undone”

Published in: on October 20, 2006 at 11:26 am  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nerro.wordpress.com/2006/10/20/beautiful-morning/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Unbearable lightness because we want so much to be significant but we’re really not in the larger scheme of things? One way to look at it I guess. A bit on the dark side but a valid perspective nonetheless.

    Reminds of me that Time Magazine ad they used to play on CNN: “Feeling insignificant is never a bad thing.”

  2. I want ka7k too!! Too bad I live all the way in Kuwait where ka7k isn’t really the focus of attention *sigh* 😦

    Kol sana wenti tayeb mo2adaman 😀

  3. What is it with people at eastern Cairo (Helio & NC) and something called Sedra?! howa da eh belzabt, I got to hear the name many times rcently.
    We ba3dein enty fe Alex walla cairo walla eh:)
    The weather is amazing fe3lan, lazem el muse teshtaghal sa7 ba2a…
    Ka7k can be a minor issue, it is the way you put it. may the family or people around.
    I liked the “einmal ist keinmal” line. will use it in business 😀

  4. This year I was very enthusiastic about making something new for the eid, and thought of making the ka7k at home.. I love it when I see a lot of family members gathered and all sharing in making the ka7k.. was going to ask my friends to come and join me in making it, bas unfortunately, I didn’t get the recipe for it, and mum completely rejected the idea..

    Happy Eid 🙂

  5. It is wonderful to wake up with a high spirit it makes all your day and influences your behavior in a good way.
    As an untisleaping person sometimes I fall asleap for 12 hours and then I continue waking for days till the energy goes down.
    About the Ka7k this year I think the phenomena of Ka7k is deminishing when I was young I use to attend with my mother and my ants a ceromony of Doing Ka7k for 2 whole days we have nothing to do but that all the family gathered in my granpa place and we eat and live together just to finish this ceremony for us little children , It was great it was a time to play and hang together but now it is totally different no one do Ka7k any more and all its fun is gone it is something that we buy and only choose from where we buy it we compare the tastes and say a place taste is better than the other , this is the new ceremony , lovely.
    I liked your description of the concert and the piece , you said you will tell me when they come to alex.
    “The Unbearable Lightness of Being” by Kundera is some words to think about , it seams like an intresting book will wait for you to finish it and give an opinion.

    *********** Happy Eid ********************

  6. Loulou: Not always believe me, but the way Kundera is dealing with is it is awesome.

    Sou: tab send me ur address, wana ab3atlek 7ak7 to7fa..kol sana wenti tayeba.

    Hossam:Sedra is a bakery/pastry @ Helio, 7agto to7fa. w ba3den business eih delwa2ti, forget el shoghl shwaya, u have a whole week off 😀

    Moon: LOL,rabena satar :D, Happy Eid.

    Hicham: I remeber the ka7k ceremonies at grandma’s as well, they used to be fun, and a neighbour here used to do such fests bas she passed away so many years ago “allah yer7amha”. I can never forget those days.
    Yes, I sure will tell u about the concerts as soon as I know. wait for the book review 🙂

  7. Where i am now…they don’t have any nice ka7k 😦

    wa7ashetny masr!

  8. I really feel a prick keda whenever I have such a comment, my family and I never missed ka7k even fel States 😀 takhayal!! anywayz ma3lesh and happy Eid. And here is something for you and any friend abroad, if you want any thing from here that would make u feel the essence of a certain occassion or make u feel good just email me, and I will find a way and send it to you…cool!! am serious mesh 3ozomet marakbeya.

  9. Adaha wee odood 🙂


Leave a Reply

