The Dutchess said

“Be what you would seem to be — or, if you’d like it put more simply — Never imagine yourself not to be otherwise than what it might appear to others that what you were or might have been was not otherwise than what you had been would have appeared to them to be otherwise”.

Published in: on November 26, 2006 at 12:06 pm  Comments (18)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://nerro.wordpress.com/2006/11/26/the-dutchess-said-to-alice/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. wow..simply put indeed,to quote el Lemby “Na3am?!”

  2. supporting Archangel,,, “Na3am” ? 🙂

  3. Lol @ “Na3am”?!! at least u have it written, u shouldn’t be as puzzled as Alice guyz ;D
    “I think I should understand that better,’ Alice said very politely, `if I had it written down: but I can’t quite follow it as you say it.
    That’s nothing to what I could say if I chose, the Duchess replied, in a pleased tone”.

    Ha..how is keda!!

  4. Although my exposure to his work was mostly through an Arabic-speaking cartoon that featured Alice, my admiration of Carroll is so great. reading him in English is one of th things I have to do one day.

    Look for Jabberwocky.

  5. Reading Carroll is so much fun. Jabberwocky!! “It seems very pretty, but it’s rather hard to understand!” quoting Alice ;D

  6. I liked it “Be what you would seem to be” needs no explaination, try to be what you would like to be or what you wished to be.
    I always thought if you beleived you are going to be something or to do something you will accomplishe this one day just keep your faith.
    It works for me all my life.

  7. Oh my God,it’s from Alice???..as in Alice in wonderland????..lol,i am sooooo ashamed of myself..children watch this show!!!!

    PS. The charachter who looked like a bloated egg, the one who used to pace back and forth on a wall and whine all the time used to creep me out as a child,he is sooooo scary!!!!

    ok,back to pretending to be working “actually i am watching Road Runner”

    cheers Nerro and good morning/afternoon/evening/night everyone

  8. I like the concept ya Hesahm as well.

    Archangel: “blush” not only children ya3ni😉, as for your PS, you mean humpty dumpty!!
    Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall,
    Humpty Dumpty had a great fall;
    All the King’s horses and all the King’s men,
    Couldn’t put Humpty together again

    yeah..yestahel, I never liked him at all for he was always scared keda and lazy w battoot.
    yalla..back to RR…and have a beautiful evening.

    PS: RR in ur kind of firm!!

  9. On reading your post, the first thing that came to my mind was:
    “taba2 taba2na, taba2 fi taba2 taba2kou, ye3raf taba2 taba2kou yetba2 fi taba2 taba2na…”
    The quote is very clear w share7 nafsou:)

  10. da 7elm wala 3elm🙂 Wonderer is back and commenting kaman, don’t tell me you blogged wala 7aga😉
    Yeah…share7 nafsou>

  11. yes ya Nerro,RR and Wile E always cheer me up in the morning “in the morning i tend to be a horrible person to be around “and at night i am even worse””..maybe it’s driving from Maadi to Mohandiseen, i wonder when will they start selling machine guns as car accessories

    PS. you know where i work!!!!..do you have like 6 ex-CIA agents working for your blog or something????

    LOL wonderer,close to what i had in mind when i first read it “although i was thinking more like Amees Nefeesa neshef la2 lessa manshefsh”

    Cheers folks

  12. Lol @ the machine guns as car accessories. Driving around Cairo is becoming more of a nightmare.

    6 ex-CIA agents bas?? how come!! am a royality..2ol secret agency😉
    Try to remember the steps you had to do before posting the comment and u will know how i figured ur work place😀

  13. *blushes deep red like a ripe tomato*..grrrr,i forgot disabling the autofill function in my FireFox.

    i hope you all have a great day,now it’s time to get back to having a crush on the new girl,God she’s perfect..hmm,didn’t someone say “beauty is in the eye of the beholder”..that means that i am the perfect one,yayyyyyyyyyyy..instant self-esteem boost,only adrenaline beats having such a rush

  14. thanya wa7da law thama7t. Now, u don’t throw this “crush on the new girl” keda w tegri…details w keda…am a Gemini ya gama3a…have mercy on me!! I remember Miss Piggy saying something like
    “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and it may be necessary from time to time to give a stupid or misinformed beholder a black eye” ;P enjoy ur crush and great day right back at ya😀

  15. black eye!!!!..leeh kedda ya Nerro,i like my eyes the way they are,thank you..plus she couldn’t possibly reach my face,she’s like 5’7″ and i am 6’2″..i have to bow for her to take a swing at my face😛

    anyway,i won’t be doing her justice with my poor attempts at describing her but here it goes..she has a killer smile and you know those eyes that ooze intelligence..clear and honest but in the same time scaringly mysterious..not to mention that she looks stunning in a business suit..hmmm,sometimes i wish i was a poet

    LOL,Man she’s changing me..and i thought i was rude and heartless..ok guys,please toss what i wrote about the similarities between social life and war in the nearest trash can,thank you for not littering

    PS.i am a cancerians,cancerians are vague and silent by nature “not to mention that the most famous serial killers were cancerians” and hushhhhh,keep it between us ya Nerro,i don’t want her to know😉

  16. Ya mummyyyyyyyy…enta betkhawefni wet2oli serial killers w ro3b!!😀
    Oh, apparently you are gonna be a poet sometime soon get back to ur description keda and u will know😉
    More serious note: where can I read ur writings tayeb??
    About the black eye: I was kidding, I just love the quote awi.

  17. well,it’s a fact..cancerians are either great doctors or great assassins..they are quite imaginative,creative and emotional..the emotional part is the tricky one coz love is an emotion and rage is one too,

    anyways..the only thing that i wrote and am proud of is my graduation thesis,it’s about “Voice recognition and synthesis using hidden Markov models”..interesting sa7?..hey,at least i got an A

    About the black eye:and i took at as a joke,don’t worry ya Nerro “i love that quote too”

    now you got me thinking about writing something,thanks..you’re a muse😀

  18. Dude, u gotta be proud of ur graduation thesis🙂
    lol..I like the idea of being a muse😀..pleasure


Leave a Reply

